List of Courses Offered by St. John’s University of Tanzania SJUT for 2019/2020

St. John’s University of Tanzania SJUT Offered courses for 2019/2020

At the Synod of the Anglican Church of Tanzania (ACT) in 1999, the then Archbishop of the Anglican Church, Donald Mtetemela, articulated the importance of establishing a university to provide higher education in certain academic disciplines through which the Church would contribute to the eradication of extreme poverty, hunger and disease and thus improve Tanzania’s life expectancy. Subsequently, St John’s University was established and incorporated under a Charter as prescribed by Tanzania’s Universities Act of 2005 and as amended.

The university confers various certificates, diplomas, postgraduate diplomas, bachelors degrees and masters degrees. Currently the University has one PhD program, which is in history.

The Faculty of Commerce and Business Studies (FOCB):

  • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
  • Bachelor of Accountancy and Finance (BAF)
  • Bachelor of Business Studies(BBS)
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Business Administration (PgDBA)
  • NBAA/NBMM Review Classes – All Levels
  • Diploma in Business Administration (Two years)

The Faculty of Humanities and Education (FAHE):

Degree Programs

  • Bachelor of Arts in Education (3 years)
  • Bachelor of Arts in Special Education (3 years)
  • Master of Arts in Education (18 months)
  • Master of Art in Special Education (18 months)
  • Master of Art in History (18 months)
  • PhD (4 years by Coursework and Research and 5 years by Thesis only)

Non-Degree Programs

  • Certificate in Primary Education (2 years)
  • Certificate in Project Planning and Management (1 year)
  • Diploma in Project Planning and Management (2 years)

The Faculty of Natural and Applied Science (FaNAS):

  • B.Sc. (Education)


  • Diploma in Nursing
  • Bsc (Nursing)- On Campus
  • Master’s Program


  • B.Sc. Pharmacy