TCU List of Approved University Institutions in Tanzania 2020

by Udahiliportal

Tanzania Commission for Universities TCU-List of Approved University Institutions in Tanzania as of 9th July 2020

Accreditation is a process of validation in which Colleges, Universities and other institutions of higher learning are evaluated. In Tanzania accreditation means an institution has met or exceeded minimum standards of quality. For any institution to be accredited the Commission must be satisfied that the institution concerned has adequate physical, human and financial resources, viable academic programme and sound structure of governance.

According to the Universities Act, Cap. 346, the Commission is mandated to recognize and register all University institutions operating in Tanzania. Todate the Commission has registered 49 university institutions. To view the list click here.

Accreditation of Universities is done in two stages namely;  Proviisional Licence and Certificate of Accreditation;  The process also involves Chattering which is granted by the President as evidence that the University meets the requirements and standards of academic excellence set by the Commission.

  • A Provisional Licence is a preparatory stage for issuance of Certificate of Accreditation. At this stage the institution is required to develop physical infrastructure, prepare administrative and academic policies, develop curriculum, establish governance structure and employ academic staff. An institution holding a Provisional Licence is not allowed to admit students. An institution holding Certificate of Accreditation has full autonomy in the administration of its academic affairs and can confer awards in its name.
  • However, before 2013 the process of accreditation of institutions included the third stage which is Certificate of Full Registration (CFR). A holder of CFR  has well developed internal quality assurance system hence is allowed to admit students.

PUBLIC Universities

  • University of Dar es Salaam
  • Sokoine University of Agriculture
  • Open University of Tanzania
  • Ardhi University
  • State University of Zanzibar
  • Mzumbe University
  • Muhimbili University of Health & Allied Sciences
  • Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology
  • University of Dodoma
  • Mbeya University of Science and Technology
  • Moshi Cooperative University
  • Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology

 Private Universities

  • Hubert Kairuki Memorial University
  • International Medical and
  • Technological University and
  • Chartered
  • Tumaini University Makumira
  • St. Augustine University of Tanzania
  • Zanzibar University
  • Mount Meru University
  • University of Arusha
  • Teofilo Kisanji University
  • Muslim University of Morogoro
  • St. John’s University of Tanzania
  • University of Bagamoyo
  • Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences
  • St. Joseph University in Tanzania
  • United African University of Tanzania
  • Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University
  • University of Iringa
  • AbdulRahman Al-Sumait Memorial University
  • Mwenge Catholic University
  • Ruaha Catholic University
  • Eckernforde Tanga University
  • Aga Khan University
  • Kampala International University in Tanzania



Public University Colleges

  • Mkwawa University College of Education
  • Dar es Salaam University College of Education
  • Mbeya University College of Health and Allied Sciences

Private University Colleges

  • Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College
  • Tumaini University Makumira, Dar es Salaam College
  • Stefano Moshi Memorial University College
  • Name of the Institution
  • Archbishop Mihayo University College of Tabora
  • St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences
  • Jordan University College
  • Stella Maris Mtwara University College
  • Josiah Kibira University College
  • Arch Bishop James University College
  • Marian University College
  • St. Joseph University College of Health and Allied Sciences
  • Cardinal Rugambwa Memorial
  • University College


 Public University Campuses, Centres and Institutes

  • Institute of Marine Sciences
  • Mzumbe University Dar es Salaam Campus
  • Mzumbe University Mbeya Campus

Private University Campuses, Centres and Institutes

  • Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Arusha Centre
  • St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Dar es Salaam Centre
  • Stefano Moshi Memorial University College, Mwika Centre
  • St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Arusha Centre
  • St Augustine University of Tanzania, Mbeya Centre
  • Teofilo Kisanji University, Dar es Salaam Centre


More Details can be available here>> TCU List of Approved University Institutions in Tanzania 2020

Related Posts

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.